Project Detail


Edward M. Kennedy Prize

Partner(s): - Columbia University Libraries

The Edward M. Kennedy Prize for Drama Inspired by American History is given annually through Columbia University Libraries to a new play or musical of merit that "...enlists theater's power to explore the past of the United States, to participate meaningfully in the great issues of our day through the public conversation, grounded in historical understanding, that is essential to the functioning of a democracy." The prize consists of a $100,000 award as well as an educational website to promote understanding of the works. CCNMTL works with the winning playwrights each year to create a public educational website with study and teaching guides, historical research, and scholarly discussions and interpretations of the play.

The websites feature content for teachers seeking to supplement their history and arts curricula with contemporary, critically-acclaimed sources as well as for students and scholars in higher education. Users are able to access multimedia, such as video interviews with the playwrights and scholars of American history and drama; photos from each play's production; selections from the scripts; essays to guide inquiry into these works and their surrounding historical context; and learning activities to help students and teachers use the plays as part of coursework.

2014 Winner
Detroit '67, by Dominique Morisseau

2013 Winners
All the Way, by Robert Shenkkan
The Body of an American, by Dan O'Brien

Access: Public
Released: April 2013
Status: Active

View Full Project