International Bill of Rights

The International Bill of Rights consists of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and its two optional protocols and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR). The Universal Declaration of Human Rights recognizes the indivisibility of human rights. Nevertheless, separate covenants evolved on civil and political and economic, social and cultural rights, reflecting the legacy of the cold war.

Human Development Report 2000, published by UNDP Page 44.